Options

Just got promoted! Certs helped

kenny831kenny831 Member Posts: 266
Hello folks,

Thanks to all of you for sharing your knowledge on this site.

I have been working helpdesk at a hospital for the last 3 years (this week is my anniversary).
A tech position finally (internal posting only) opened up and I applied. There are guys at our 'desk that have been here for 6+ years (it pays well at our desk) and they were interested in this position, but the position required A+ and MCP. I am the only with A+ and other certs and I got the position. None of my co-workers are bitter, they are telling me that I earned it.

Don't misunderstand me. It is not just that I have the certs. I worked my tail off. Our director mentioned that I provide a very high level of service to our users (she has received many, many responses of how great my attitude is from user replies in Remedy).

In short, if you start at the helpdesk, make sure you attempt to have a positive, can-do attitude. It will get noticed. Some folks veiw helpdesk work as crap and do not put any effort into it because it is entry level. This is where you learn a heap of stuff.

Sorry for the long post, Im pretty hyped at the moment.

Comments

• Options
    AldurAldur Member Posts: 1,460
    Woot! Congrats man! icon_cheers.gif

And that's cool to hear that your certs played a major role in job advancement. It goes to show that certs can help give you the edge that other possible applicants may not have.
    "Bribe is such an ugly word. I prefer extortion. The X makes it sound cool."

-Bender
  • Options
    chrisonechrisone Member Posts: 2,278 ■■■■■■■■■□
    congrats! certs do help they show your enthusiasm to excel and work hard. Honestly if you have no desire to move on or you just like working help desk, you should be out of the help desk position with 1 to 2 years onto a Higher JR position like server, network, management, voip, secuirty, or programing.