Options

Student Experiences at Western Governors University (WGU)

Comments

• Options
    bryanthetechiebryanthetechie Member Posts: 172
    Congrats, man... way to go!!
  • Options
    veritas_libertasveritas_libertas Member Posts: 5,746 ■■■■■■■■■■
    @Excellent1: Congratulations! What next?
  • Options
    TurgonTurgon Banned Posts: 6,308 ■■■■■■■■■□
    I agree on every point.

Certs are academically irrelevant unless you are getting credit for them from a program like WGU, Excelsior College, etc.

I worked my way into IT by first getting a job in the foreign language lab in college helping students with the language software for 1.5 years (Mac and PCs). After college I worked in a warehouse stocking shelves and talked them into cross-training me on everything... which lead to learning to batch process orders on and AIX system and supporting Lotus Notes running in a NetWare environment. From there got a job building PCs for Compaq as a temp through ManPower. Wtih all that experience I was able to get a sweet desktop support job for a Fortune 500 company, which really started my career. No certs and no degree yet. Certs came later, then the degree. The best way to break into the IT world is by hard work and looking for opportunities everywhere.

Yea, man... CNE in NetWare 4. Ahh, the good ole days.

I worked with Netware 3.12, became CNE in Netware 5 and 6. Yup the good old days :)
  • Options
    HypntickHypntick Member Posts: 1,451 ■■■■■■□□□□
    Excellent1, nicely done! Just about to finish my second term with 1 more planned. The end is in sight for me as well. Congrats on your success!
    WGU BS:IT Completed June 30th 2012.
    WGU MS:ISA Completed October 30th 2013.
  • Options
    demonfurbiedemonfurbie Member Posts: 1,819
    That's just inspiration to hurry my butt up
    wgu undergrad: done ... woot!!
    WGU MS IT Management: done ... double woot :cheers:
  • Options
    Excellent1Excellent1 Member Posts: 462 ■■■■■■■□□□