Options

CCNA & No Experience

Guys,

I will probably pass and have my CCNA certification towards the end of spring this year.

However, I have no experience with Cisco routers or the CLI.

How can I get some experience working with Cisco Switches, Routers, CLI etc.

Comments

• Options
    jonfc3sjonfc3s Member Posts: 18 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Best bet would be to pick up a simlulator,.... and not to rain on your parade, but it will be VERY difficult for you to pass the test(s) for the CCNA without knowledge of the CLI.

I've been using the boson netsim for a little over a year now, and it is a pretty good product and worth the investment.

Jon
  • Options
    lordylordy Member Posts: 632 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Just curious, how to plan to pass the CCNA without knowing the CLI ?
    Working on CCNP: [X] SWITCH --- [ ] ROUTE --- [ ] TSHOOT
    Goal for 2014: RHCA
    Goal for 2015: CCDP
  • Options
    jeanathanjeanathan Member Posts: 163
    Many have said before and I shall repeat them now. GNS3.

Poor, no matter, GNS3 allows the poorest of the poor to build labs in excess of 20000 usd and gain invaluable experience configuring and troubleshooting networks with cisco equipment.

But if it is real world experience for a resume that you want. Unfortunately, you get lucky and get a job or you go offer your services free of labor charge to charities and small businesses. Keep in mind tech soup provides deep discounts for cisco hardware for a number of charities.

That is the best I can come up with.
    Struggling through the re-certification process after 2 years of no OJT for the CCNP.
  • Options
    tim100tim100 Member Posts: 162
    jeanathan wrote: »
    Many have said before and I shall repeat them now. GNS3.

Poor, no matter, GNS3 allows the poorest of the poor to build labs in excess of 20000 usd and gain invaluable experience configuring and troubleshooting networks with cisco equipment.