Options

What do you think about the Novell Linux Desktop 9

NPA24NPA24 Member Posts: 588 ■■□□□□□□□□
I was just wondering how everyone feels about the new Novell Linux Desktop 9. It seems to be a competitive alternative to Microsoft Windows. I'm sure it will take off pretty good considering it's only like $50 for a workstation license which includes numerous bundled software like for example office applications. I give it like 3 months and there will be certifications out for this OS. Don't get me wrong though, i'm open to all OS, I do use Windows.

http://www.novell.com/products/desktop/index.html?sourceidint=productsmenu_nld_bottom

Comments

• Options
    RussSRussS Member Posts: 2,068 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Good question.
    Perhaps for experienced users or alternately total newbies. The big problem about having an alternative desktop OS is that the users get totally confused if it is not like what they are used to.
    We have many clients that are still running DOS apps as there is not an affordable or viable replacement and when a new user starts things always get interesting icon_lol.gif
    www.supercross.com
    FIM website of the year 2007
  • Options
    NPA24NPA24 Member Posts: 588 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Wow, you still have dos in your environment. Well I guess dos apps is still being used. Yeah I can totally agree with you on that one about new users can always get so interesting.
  • Options
    DOS, Win95, W98, W2K, XP, NT Server, W2K Server, W2K3 Server, Novell, Linux - have them all at one client or another.
    www.supercross.com
  • Options
    matcheymatchey Member Posts: 33 ■■□□□□□□□□
    the suzie linux enterprise server is getting very good reviews, faster, cheaper and more secure that windows 2003 its claimed. Would like to hear from some users who have used it ??
  • Options
    We have rolled it out in a couple of small sites and are mostly happy with its performance. In the new year I see us replacing all of the RedHat we have left out there.