Options

Best way to learn MCSE

S@NS@N Member Posts: 8 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello,

I currently work in the industry in a 2003 environment. Last year I finally pulled my finger out and did 70-270, 70-290 and 70-291. I have a full time job and family so study for me is part time.

I was learning using Seek online study, however I felt that after I'd gone through their online stuff, and got about 90% on all the tests, I still didn't know enough of the material, I would then use online guides, books and prep exams and sometimes they seemed to miss an awful lot of stuff.

For the 291, it barely covered routing at all, I played around with it in my own test environment, but barely passed the exam.

My sub to seek has expired and my company is willing to renew my study, but I'm looking for something a little more comprehensive? I kinda feel that the seek stuff is good to dip your toes into, but other than that it's fairly useless.

Does anyone have any pointers on courses online or not, or methods of study that would be beneficial. If it helps, I have a hard time learning by reading, I really need a lot of hands on stuff so I can see how things work for myself.

Thanks!
When in doubt, GTFO

Comments

• Options
    CosmocatCosmocat Member Posts: 60 ■■□□□□□□□□
    If you have a hard time reading material I would suggest CBT Nuggets and/or Trainsignal Computer Based courses where you can follow along with the instructor on your own lab machine in VMware or such.

icon_arrow.gif CBT NUGGETS: CBT Nuggets: Training for Cisco CCNA SQL MCSE VB.NET A+ Linux PMP & Many More IT Certification Exams!

icon_arrow.gif TRAINSIGNAL: Microsoft Training Videos - MCTS, MCITP, MCSE | Train Signal