New Beginner ISO 27001

smiahsmiah Member Posts: 25 ■□□□□□□□□□
I have been working in I.T for 10 years as Systems manger/Security Administrator.
I'm now thinking moving to Security Consultant Side.
I have been doing some research and found ISO 27001 is a good certification for job/career. i am new to this as a beginner.
I will be doing self study at my cost and found 2 books from amazon:

Amazon.com: IT Governance: A Manager's Guide to Data Security and ISO 27001 / ISO 27002 (9780749452711): Alan Calder, Steve Watkins: Books
&
http://www.amazon.com/Nine-Steps-Success-Implementation-Overview/dp/1905356129/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1272372467&sr=8-3

1) Can anyone please suggest me any good materials/books/sites to help achive this certifications?

2) if you have done this ceritification, please share the experience, is it very difficult job? how intensive the course is? is home base study good enough or course is a must?

3) is there any exam involved? if yes, whats the exam number?

Please send me much information/advice on iso27001
Thanks for looking at this

Comments

• eMeSeMeS Member Posts: 1,875 ■■■■■■■■■□
    smiah wrote: »
    1) Can anyone please suggest me any good materials/books/sites to help achive this certifications?

2) if you have done this ceritification, please share the experience, is it very difficult job? how intensive the course is? is home base study good enough or course is a must?

3) is there any exam involved? if yes, whats the exam number?

Thanks for looking at this

The ISO 27000 series is an organizational certification. Organizations achieve it by meeting what are called "shalls" in the standard. This is not something an individual can achieve. Organizations achieve 27000 series certification as the result of a series of formal audits.