Options

CME integrated into CUCM...

peanutnogginpeanutnoggin Member Posts: 1,096 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hi TE,

I'm a VoIP noob so I'm quite curious... Can a router running CME somehow get integrated into a CUCM at another location? These locations are geographically separated and they do have a VPN tunnel between the two locations. Is it common practice to have a CUCM in one location and VoIP phones register to that CUCM from the remote site? Or is it a better idea to have the router running the CME register the VoIP phones and somehow integrate the CME into the CUCM? All questions, concerns, and comments are welcomed... Thanks!

-Peanut
We cannot have a superior democracy with an inferior education system!

-Mayor Cory Booker

Comments

• Options
    brocbroc Member Posts: 167
    Both are possible actually but what you would normally do is setting up the CUCM at the main site and configure the router as a SRST device, not quite the full CME but enough to be able to deal with the voice internally in case the WAN link goes down.

Then, depending on the situation, you could also set up the router as a PSTN gateway for backup.

You can also "integrate" the CME router and set up a SIP trunk to communicate between the two sites if the IT/Voice departments are not centralised somehow.

Either way, you will have to get some sort of VPN between the sites.
    "Not everything that counts can be counted, and not everything that can be counted counts.”
  • Options
    pitviperpitviper Member Posts: 1,376 ■■■■■■■□□□
    Yes, it's common to have remote phones register with a centralized call manager over the WAN - The branch office router would be setup to use Survivable Remote Site Telephony (SRST) so that it can take over call processing in the event that communications with the centralized "brain" is severed.

Or you can simply setup a trunk between the CUCM cluster and CUCME and setup the dial plans to send internal calls between the 2 isolated systems.