Options

I have to give a 20-minute speech to a class of 4th graders for Career Day...help!

SrSysAdminSrSysAdmin Member Posts: 259
I agreed to help out my girlfriend's school and give a 20 minute speech on Friday telling them all about my job. The problem is that I'm not very creative.

I'm a systems administrator (hence the name)...does anybody have any ideas concerning what I can talk about to the 4th graders that will get them excited about a career in IT?

I love my job, but I'm not sure how to make it sound exciting to a group of 10 year olds, I'm too technical I guess.
Current Certifications:

* B.S. in Business Management
* Sec+ 2008
* MCSA

Currently Studying for:
* 70-293 Maintaining a Server 2003 Network

Future Plans:

* 70-294 Planning a Server 2003 AD
* 70-297 Designing a Server 2003 AD
* 70-647 Server 2008
* 70-649 MCSE to MCITP:EA

Comments

• Options
    PlantwizPlantwiz Mod Posts: 5,057 Mod
    JrSysAdmin wrote: »
    I agreed to help out my girlfriend's school and give a 20 minute speech on Friday telling them all about my job. The problem is that I'm not very creative.
    I'm a systems administrator (hence the name)...does anybody have any ideas concerning what I can talk about to the 4th graders that will get them excited about a career in IT?
    I love my job, but I'm not sure how to make it sound exciting to a group of 10 year olds, I'm too technical I guess.

OH how fun!!!

Take props! (or visual aids)
    - Phone (yeah lame, but the kids won't realize it)
    - PC and/or notebook to represent your 'users' who may call.

You can use a couple students to help you out. Write up a couple scenarios

- lost password reset (procedure you'd use to ensure the user is who they claim)
    - Print device troubleshooting, or something mouse dying, HDD dying, UPS button turned off by mistake, etc... something THEY may have done or realize.

OR talk about WHY safety items are used to prevent calls to you, or minimize calls to you.

AND