Question for monitor interface

high1432007high1432007 Member Posts: 37 ■■□□□□□□□□
I got the question on below output, what is diff between local,remote statistic?

Interface: ge-4/2/0.820, Enabled, Link is Up
Flags: SNMP-Traps 0x4000
Encapsulation: VLAN-VPLS
VLAN-Tag [ 0x8100.820 ]
Local statistics: Current delta
Input bytes: 0 [0]
Output bytes: 0 [0]
Input packets: 0 [0]
Output packets: 0 [0]
Remote statistics:
Input bytes: 394968455 (281280 bps) [130698]
Output bytes: 3573819448 (1151216 bps) [537013]
Input packets: 1996806 (182 pps) [747]
Output packets: 3389386 (231 pps) [804]
Traffic statistics:
Input bytes: 394968455 [130698]
Output bytes: 3573819448 [537013]
Input packets: 1996806 [747]
Output packets: 3389386 [804]

Comments

  • Robert_74Robert_74 Member Posts: 38 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Local is for traffic to / from RE, and remote is for transit traffic
  • high1432007high1432007 Member Posts: 37 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Tks, so what type of traffic consider to/from RE, ping to interface IP? launch telnet session?

    as I try to generating some so call "RE related traffic" but the counter doesn't move at all.

    any idea?
  • AldurAldur Juniper Moderator Member Posts: 1,460
    Yes, all of those are examples of RE based traffic.

    Are you trying to generate local IP traffic on the interface you have shown above, ge-4/2/0.820? Do you have an IP address on that interface? I would imagine not since the encapsulation is VLAN-VPLS.

    To get the local traffic stats to increment on a given interface you need to send IP traffic to that interface which will then pass that traffic to the RE. If you don't have an IP address on that interface then those stats aren't going to be doing any incrementing soon :)
    "Bribe is such an ugly word. I prefer extortion. The X makes it sound cool."

    -Bender
  • high1432007high1432007 Member Posts: 37 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Dude,

    Tks, of course am not using this vpls interface for testing, am having a M120 router basically with IP on it. I have done below,

    use both L3 interface with diff L2 encap(HDLC, PPP, Ethernet)

    ping to the direct connection peer, telnet, all now showing any increments.

    I can record it down & upload here......
  • high1432007high1432007 Member Posts: 37 ■■□□□□□□□□
    correction:"all now showing any increments"

    should be "all not showing any increments"
  • AldurAldur Juniper Moderator Member Posts: 1,460
    hmm.... interesting, wonder if this is a cosmetic bug you're hitting. I just ran a ping from a T1600 to a M320's interface address and the local stats on that interface on the M320 incremented in kind. Also, if I ping the loopback address on the M320 from the T1600 I received the same results.

    What version of code are you running? I'm guessing that you're seeing a cosmetic bug if you're doing this and not seeing the local counters increment.
    "Bribe is such an ugly word. I prefer extortion. The X makes it sound cool."

    -Bender
  • high1432007high1432007 Member Posts: 37 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Dude,

    the one I run the test is M20 box with Junos 8.5S3

    I don't have M320 & T1600 in my network....
  • AldurAldur Juniper Moderator Member Posts: 1,460
    Hmmm... No M20s here for me to do any testing on icon_sad.gif

    But I can tell you that what you're seeing isn't correct behavior, more then likely a cosmetic bug. I'd suggest opening a case with JTAC if you want to pursue it further.
    "Bribe is such an ugly word. I prefer extortion. The X makes it sound cool."

    -Bender
  • high1432007high1432007 Member Posts: 37 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Dude,

    Tks anyway!
Sign In or Register to comment.