IT Newbie

securityparlaysecurityparlay Member Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
Good morning everyone,

I have not worked in the IT field and I'm looking to break into it. A friend suggested getting into security.

I was hoping to find some help with finding a good book to help me study for the Security+ Exam. I've noticed that most of the Security+ books written are intended for an audience that already have some experience. Being that I am not experienced, these book are going to be a bit hard for me to read through.

I'm thinking that I can just refer to the internet for any networking definitions and concepts. But, I would really like to find a book that will sort of hold my hand.

Does anyone have any suggestions for a book that might do this?

I also found this book on Amazon that looks like a real winner: Amazon.com: CompTIA Security+: Get Certified Get Ahead: SY0-201 Study Guide (9781439236369): Darril Gibson: Books
Certs: None.
Reading: A+ Exam Guide, 7th ed. by Mike Meyers... ~350 pages through

Comments

• DevilsbaneDevilsbane Member Posts: 4,214 ■■■■■■■■□□
    I've not begun my studies yet, but everyone says that book is the champion, hands down. I'll be ordering my copy shortly.
    Decide what to be and go be it.
  • Samurai004Samurai004 Member Posts: 68 ■■□□□□□□□□
    If your going to get your Sec+ certification, you might want to look at getting A+ and Network+ first. They seem to lay a good foundation for the Sec+ exam. I especially found the Network+ material helpful in feeling comfortable with the Sec+.

But if you have a degree or something else to bring to the table and all you need is the Sec+ cert then you might want to look at TestOut interactive video training. I normally watch videos in the related area of study and THEN read the books. I feel much more comfortable learning that way personally. Sec+ videos were helpful when trying to get the idea of private/public key exchanges.

Whatever you decide to do, good luck to you!icon_thumright.gif