Equipment needed

MAC_AddyMAC_Addy Member Posts: 1,740 ■■■■□□□□□□
Hello!

I am currently studying the CCNA course with their books and I recently bought the CBT nuggets videos. It's all helping a lot... but, I have seen some people selling routers and switches on ebay and other places. Obviously having the equipment helps a lot, but I am worried that I'll get a router or a switch that is out-dated and won't work for what I need to study on.

I'd like to get equipment that'll help me study for CCNA and CCNP. Can anyone else me out on some information?

Thanks!
Jamie
2017 Certification Goals:
CCNP R/S

Comments

• jamesleecolemanjamesleecoleman Member Posts: 1,899 ■■■■■□□□□□
    you can try:

ciscokits.com
    newegg.com

I want to buy from cisco kits but I don't have the money. They seem to have very good deals on their gear along with good warranties.
    Booya!!
    WIP : | CISSP [2018] | CISA [2018] | CAPM [2018] | eCPPT [2018] | CRISC [2019] | TORFL (TRKI) B1 | Learning: | Russian | Farsi |
    *****You can fail a test a bunch of times but what matters is that if you fail to give up or not*****
  • KaminskyKaminsky Member Posts: 1,235
    Look at the FAQ. There are tons of posts in this particular forum on exactly what you are asking. Members have been giving out good info on this for years.

Also look at a very good discussion on Odum's blog here
    CCNA Lab Main Post Summary | NetworkWorld.com Community

Be Warned ! Buying equipment for home labbing can be very addictive to the extent I was kinda gutted my wife wouldn't let me have a 42 rack they were throwing away at work. She refused to believe my argument that she didn't need a wardrobe and could hang her clothes on the picture rail icon_sad.gif

SIM labbers should make comments and post links now so you can look at a different way of doing it.
    Kam.
  • DPGDPG Member Posts: 780 ■■■■■□□□□□
    I'm selling the rest of my CCNA lab.

This is what I have left:

2x Cisco 2621
    1x Cisco 2650XM