Options

need help, which exam should I take?

CCNoobieCCNoobie Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi all, first post! :D

I am new to the IT business but I had RF wireless network (licensed) and microwave backhaul design experience. In the latest years I worked as RF hardware design engineer for wireless base station applications. Now I decided to get myself educated in the IT area. Initially, I thought I should extend my skills to Wireless LAN which is closer to my previous expertise. I figured I need to study for the CCNA Wireless IUWNE exam. Then someone told me I have to get CCNA passed first then take the CCNA wireless certification.

My questions are:
1) With my background which level should I start with? CCNA or CCNP?
2) There are many certificates, If I just want to be a professonal on Wireless LAN should CCNA wireless or CCNP wireless enough?

Would someone explain the process for me?

Please excuse my simple questions

Thank you!!!

Comments

• Options
    logicmyfootlogicmyfoot Member Posts: 82 ■■□□□□□□□□
    In order to take CCNP and you first need to have a CCNA. After your CCNA you can get into Wireless domain you need to get CCNA;Wireless [ for which CCNA servers as a prerequisite]
    then onto CCNP:Wireless

hope this helps
  • Options
    alan2308alan2308 Member Posts: 1,854 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Here's everything you need to know about all the certifications and their prerequisites:

IT Certification - Cisco - Cisco Systems

And welcome to the forum!
  • Options
    wastedtimewastedtime Member Posts: 586 ■■■■□□□□□□
    With your background you may want to look at CWNP. They have been getting better known all the time.

CWNP
  • Options
    rogue2shadowrogue2shadow Member Posts: 1,501 ■■■■■■■■□□
    wastedtime wrote: »
    With your background you may want to look at CWNP. They have been getting better known all the time.

CWNP

I've heard and read this as well. If you want to get straight into wireless that's a very good option.
  • Options
    Hi All,