Options

Cisco router Audit

sndp_2002sndp_2002 Member Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
I would like to do an audit on the routers in my company, clean up configs that are in active, check for security hole, add or remove configs that would assist in making the router more efficent and work better.

I did some research and came across a tool nipper but i cannot find the installation anywhere to download. Have anyone used this before?
Do you have any tips or advice on what I should concentrate on to get the best out of this exercise. I am not very experienced just a newbie

Comments

• Options
    Geetar28Geetar28 Member Posts: 101
    Dude I'm certainly not a seasoned veteran, but before I would go around and change configs on your PRODUCTION (and most importantly WORKING) router I'd be certain of what I was doing. I'm not sure of what you mean by an Inactive config. Make sure you have a backup of the current configs too. How many routers are we talking about, and what would you do if it all hit the fan.

Also, just a quick look of nipper software on sourceforge doesn't look too good to me. Mostly thumbs down.

Your lucky enough to get to actually mess with the routers at your company which I envy, but as a newb myself, I would definitely warn you as above.
  • Options
    gatewaygateway Member Posts: 232
    Geetar28 wrote: »
    Dude I'm certainly not a seasoned veteran, but before I would go around and change configs on your PRODUCTION (and most importantly WORKING) router I'd be certain of what I was doing. I'm not sure of what you mean by an Inactive config. Make sure you have a backup of the current configs too. How many routers are we talking about, and what would you do if it all hit the fan.

Also, just a quick look of nipper software on sourceforge doesn't look too good to me. Mostly thumbs down.

Your lucky enough to get to actually mess with the routers at your company which I envy, but as a newb myself, I would definitely warn you as above.

+1