Options

Hyper terminal for windows7

AndrewA1981AndrewA1981 Member Posts: 9 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey,

So I'm studying for my ccent exam and I just got a few routers and switches to start working on a lab at home, I can't get a connection to my switches or routers with my win7 64bit laptop.

I'm using a free hyperterminal program called HyperTerminal Private Edition v7.0 by Hilgraeve and usb to rs232 adapter to connect to my console cable.

I used the same adapter and a netbook running windows xp and was able to connect to each of my routers/switches with no problems with built in windows xp hyper terminal, so it's making me think it could be the program I'm using

Does anyone know of a good free hyper terminal program for windows 7 64? I made sure the drivers for my rs232 adaprter were 64 bit on my laptop as well

anyways, thanks for any help

also sorry if someone has asked this before, I looked through the threads and didn't see one mentioning it but it's always possible I missed it

Comments

• Options
    notgoing2failnotgoing2fail Member Posts: 1,138
    I am using that same version "HyperTerminal Private Edition v7.0" on two of my Win7 with no problem.

One Win7 with 64bit, the other as 32bit. I also have a USB to rs232 chord that I use as well....

I would try using that edition on your XP and see if you can connect with it...
  • Options
    ChronusMaximusChronusMaximus Member Posts: 54 ■■□□□□□□□□
    At my work we upgraded to Windows 7 and I have been using PuTTY which works well over serial but you would have to try it with a usb-serial converter but it should work since it should see it with the USB drivers. It also does Telnet & SSH sessions so its one program to do all three which I have found to be handy. Hope it helps.

Download PuTTY - a free SSH and telnet client for Windows
    WIP: CCNA
  • Options
    MonkerzMonkerz Member Posts: 842