Options

Olives and Frame Relay

stuh84stuh84 Member Posts: 503
I wondered, is it possible to work Frame Relay with Olives?

I'm currently using Dynamips to go between Cisco routers and Juniper Olives (under QEMU, with UDP tunnels connecting from Dynamips), and I am under the impression that Frame Relay would be unlikely to work, but I may be wrong.

Anyone had any luck?
Work In Progress: CCIE R&S Written

CCIE Progress - Hours reading - 15, hours labbing - 1

Comments

• Options
    zoidbergzoidberg Member Posts: 365 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Yikes. I don't think that's going to happen. The only thing I think you can operational simulate is ethernet interfaces. On the flip side, you should be able to enter some config for frame relay, sonet, atm, etc. They just won't actually work. But at least you can play with some config.

I'm not an Olive expert, so if there's a way some of the other guys on this forum might have some cool suggestions.
  • Options
    AldurAldur Member Posts: 1,460
    Yup, only ethernet interface ability with olives and plus I don't think you can do anything that requires you to use a physical property of an interface, such as an encapsulation.

Although, like zoidberg said you can practice the config by configuring a T1/SE interface and configure FR on it. Somewhat limiting I know, but configuring FR on a Juniper router is pretty basic, encaps and one side needs to be DCE or you can turn off keep-alives to overcome the DCE requirement, and you're good to go.
    "Bribe is such an ugly word. I prefer extortion. The X makes it sound cool."

-Bender
  • Options
    I had a feeling this might be the case. I have seen mentions of using logical routers, and tunnelling between them to do it, as I saw something about putting whatever encapsulation you want on the tunnels, but it kind of defeats the point of trying to work on interoperability with Ciscos, if it can only be done within one router.