Options

This can't be good

Howling MonkeyHowling Monkey Member Posts: 48 ■■□□□□□□□□
My IS manager is a software eng, and no networking background(he was our GM golfing buddy). I've asked about about you bandwidth usage, and nobody knows. We don't have any idea how good or bad is our network, just hope its working in the morning when we come it.

We are running Groupwise 5.5, on a desktop from the late 90's. For external email we're running Outlook Express 6 from a desktop that's only 4 years old. We can't get workstations to update anti-virus from the server, that last time it did was in Feb, 10.

Since I'm working on my CCNA, I'm pretty new to all this. But I feel like we are all jacked up as a department.

That was my first rant about my company, I feel so much better.
This is the end and the beginning

Comments

• Options
    phantasmphantasm Member Posts: 995
    I've seen worse. I've had a job where our servers were NT4, the machines all ran Windows 2000 and we had no mmanaged switches anywhere in the company. Our other server ran SCO UNIX and we even had an AIX box.
    "No man ever steps in the same river twice, for it's not the same river and he's not the same man." -Heraclitus
  • Options
    tierstentiersten Member Posts: 4,505
    phantasm wrote: »
    we even had an AIX box.
    Whats wrong with AIX? :P
  • Options
    notgoing2failnotgoing2fail Member Posts: 1,138
    Make sure your network is IP and not IPX.

icon_mrgreen.gif

Quick story:

Years ago our sales guy sold a VPN/firewall solution to a nearby company without consulting any of us. (the engineers). We were left out of everything, the meetings, the plans, we were told last minute to go implement this firewall product at ABCXYZ company.

Immediately, we were like, "huh? WTF is this?"

So on the fly we drove over to this company, only to find out their network was IPX. And yes, our product ran IP only. Suffice it to say, the customer was pissed. And so was I.