Gns3

outrunredoutrunred Banned Posts: 30 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi all

So, I downloaded GNS3....looks like a powerful tool....haven't had time to really play with it yet

I got some IOs's which aren't as easy to come by as you'd think...but anyway, got them..

Is it normal for this application to really knock the cr@ p out of your machine....?

And...has anyone got any pactice labs that cover the ICND2 stuff? different scenarios?

cheers

Comments

• outrunredoutrunred Banned Posts: 30 ■■□□□□□□□□
    oh and when I start up the 1700 series router on this and connect on console I just get a 'connected to Dynamips VM....etc etc.

no prompt or anything...?

I'm new to GNS3....sorry
  • alan2308alan2308 Member Posts: 1,854 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Start here, it walks you through everything with GNS3.

Free CCNA Workbook
  • fly351fly351 Member Posts: 360
    You have to set the "Idle PC" on the routers by right clicking on them. I had to set it on 2 different routers before my processor stopped being utterly destroyed.
    CCNP :study:
  • chrisonechrisone Member Posts: 2,278 ■■■■■■■■■□
    usually you just want to click the idle pc on all routing devices and select the values with the * next to them.
    Certs: CISSP, EnCE, OSCP, CRTP, eCTHPv2, eCPPT, eCIR, LFCS, CEH, SPLK-1002, SC-200, SC-300, AZ-900, AZ-500, VHL:Advanced+
    2023 Cert Goals: SC-100, eCPTX
  • thehourmanthehourman Member Posts: 723
    I am not expert on GNS3, but if you have a multi-core CPU I would say install a VMware player, it is free from their website, and install a Linux OS. I use Ubuntu 10.04 64bit.
    I can run GNS3 in VM without any problem; and about the resources, it won't devour your PC resources. Actually, you can multi-task in VM while GNS3 is running.
    I chose VM, so that I can switch back to Windows just by hovering my mouse outside the VM window.
    Studying:
    Working on CCNA: Security. Start date: 12.28.10