Cisco Certification Route

Foolish*Foolish* Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
My background is Video Conferencing, H.323, SIP, ISDN etc. I am currently working towards my CCENT, i want to be a VoIP expert with sound knowledge in routing and swicthing what would be the best path for me as a young jedi?

Comments

• fly351fly351 Member Posts: 360
    Sounds like getting you should finish up the CCNA, then move to the Voice path... CCNA:Voice and CCVP.
    CCNP :study:
  • Foolish*Foolish* Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
    fly351 wrote: »
    Sounds like getting you should finish up the CCNA, then move to the Voice path... CCNA:Voice and CCVP.

Thanks Dude
  • fly351fly351 Member Posts: 360
    I would check out CCVP pretty heavy. From what I have heard is that Cisco is revamping all the Professional level certs.. so CCVP will be renamed to CCNP:Voice. It may or may not benefit you to try and get it done before/after. I couldn't tell ya which though ;)
    CCNP :study:
  • Foolish*Foolish* Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
    fly351 wrote: »
    I would check out CCVP pretty heavy. From what I have heard is that Cisco is revamping all the Professional level certs.. so CCVP will be renamed to CCNP:Voice. It may or may not benefit you to try and get it done before/after. I couldn't tell ya which though ;)

Thanks dude, i think by the time i have CCNA Voice it maybe already CCNP Voice by then. Thats interesting to know though i will look out for the new change :D
  • aR15aR15 Registered Users Posts: 9 ■□□□□□□□□□
    I know this thread is already a week old by now, but I noticed you were trying to specialize in the VoIP field which just happens to be what I do (VoIP Network Engineer)! In addition to your basic protocols and R&S knowledge, learn as much as you can about the other software utilities that typically come bundled in a VoIP setup (i.e.: Cisco Call-Manager, Unity VoiceMail (Unity VM), Cisco Works, etc).