Options

I passed! barely...

AllenmanbearAllenmanbear Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey guys this is my first post and I must say this site is pretty cool. The community is really supportive and helpful. I'd recommend this site to anyone who was studying for the exam. It gives great advice and it helped me.

I took the security+ exam today and WOW that was tough. It asked some way out there questions. I scored a 785. I studied a lot and I must say that studying can only help you so much. You NEED experience like they recommend to fully understand the questions!

I just recently separated from the military and landed a job with a military contractor called Harris. Security+ was a requirement for the job so I had to get it. Some DoD regulation said so.

In the military I worked as a Radio Frequency Communications Technician maintaining Military Radios and Satellite terminals. I had no networking experience but I did practice security all the time.

I used a book from Sybex and online study guides.

This exam is no joke. Experience is the key here in my opinion.

Comments

• Options
    extremegamer1extremegamer1 Registered Users Posts: 8 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Did you take any practice exams like the one on CompTIA's website? Were the questions more practical like scenario based? I am trying to get a feel for the exam. thanks
  • Options
    Bl8ckr0uterBl8ckr0uter Inactive Imported Users Posts: 5,031 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Congrats! What's next?
  • Options
    earweedearweed Member Posts: 5,192 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Congrats on the cert and welcome to the forums!
    No longer work in IT. Play around with stuff sometimes still and fix stuff for friends and relatives.
  • Options
    AllenmanbearAllenmanbear Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Did you take any practice exams like the one on CompTIA's website? Were the questions more practical like scenario based? I am trying to get a feel for the exam. thanks