Options

real-world: OUs and Groups

ssampierssampier Member Posts: 224
I'm studying for 70-290. I am enjoying it so far; most of the stuff is review for me, since I have administered MS servers before (although only in a NT4/Novell Netware directory). I need some help understanding some of the sticky environments questions, specifically someone who has worked in a bigger environment than I have (SMB, one central datacenter with roaming users).

Here's the parts I am not getting or understanding as well as I should.

Groups
I understand there are 3 types of groups: global, universal, and domain local. Global groups can contain any members from the domain. Universal groups can contain any domain members in the forest.

You usually assign users to either global or universal groups. Then you assign resources to domain local groups. You nest global or universal groups in those domain local groups.

What I don't understand is why you would do that. You can add Universal and Global Groups to ACLs. To me this is easier since you could create a global groups for users, one for admins, executives, and so forth. With DLG groups I am imagining you have separate DLGs for all your resources--this would be a lot of groups!

I am sure there is something I am not grokking here. Please share your experience with me.

Second, OUs. I understand you use them for GPOs and to delegate administration (as well as logical separation, so you don't need to see 10,000 users in one place). That is great and all.

The design of OUs I'm missing the forest for the trees.

From my days of Novell classes I am remembering that OUs are usually created for departments. Is this really the most efficient structure?

If you had 3 physical locations, say New York, Tokyo, and London and you had a three sets of marketing departments for localized/culture marketing, would you nest OUs by location and then department?

Or would it be better to give each location its own domain?