Options

Career advice - Degree or certs

nelnel Member Posts: 2,859 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi fella's

i am about to start a new job at a isp and many of the technologies i am pretty new to or do not have extensive experiance with, so im guessing its gona be a big learning curve but great exposure to some good stuff. I start the job in september. Now before i got the job i also applied for a Msc network computing which i have been accepted for and been told i will have 95% of my fee's paid for leaving me to only pay about £400 for an Msc. The masters follows the entire CCNP material (with a few extras) so that would allow me to finish up my NP whilst doing the masters.

Now my question is what would you pursue...should i take the job and study the masters/ccnp and getting my masters for a pittance? or should i drop the masters and complete certs relavent to my job role such as ccnp, juniper, checkpoint etc?

Currently i feel that it would be best to complete the masters because of the cost and the fact i can get the ccnp which i need to finish anyway, then pick up vendor specific certs on the way after i finish.

I would just like some opinions from you's guys before i decide.
Xbox Live: Bring It On

Bsc (hons) Network Computing - 1st Class
WIP: Msc advanced networking

Comments

• Options
    TrainingDazeTrainingDaze Member Posts: 62 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Is it possible for you to do both? - accept the isp day job and take a class or two per semester for the Msc at night?
  • Options
    Is it possible for you to do both? - accept the isp day job and take a class or two per semester for the Msc at night?

hey,