Seven safe?

charliemongcharliemong Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi All,

My first post and a bit of a strange one. I have been working in IT for some 14 years now doing various roles and am wanting to progress my career. I would like to get into Pen testing. I have read lots of posts on here regarding the CEH and how its just a "tool monkey" course.

I have seen a company call seven safe who seem to be ok and do Quals that count towards a Masters in Computer Security & Forensics degree. Now the 2 qualifications that i am looking at to get me started down this path are the CSTA and CSTP. I am wondering if any of you here have heard/ done these quals as I have searched for some time and not been able to find any info in this or any other forum. I am aware that these are more application testing quals and i would like to start here and then move on to the Network pen side of life as well.

Penetration testing training course IT security training CSTP ethical hacking

I look forward to your replies

Comments

• dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    These guys advertise on Ethical Hacker all the time, but I don't know of anyone that's ever taken a course. I can vouch for the eLearnSecurity : Penetration testing and IT Security courses course, which you may want to look into if you haven't seen it yet.

To my knowledge, no one here has done any of those. You might have better luck asking on EH.
  • charliemongcharliemong Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Hi dynamik,

(Edit) have looked at the link. Looks good Are there any other sites i should look at?
    docrice wrote: »

icon_thumright.gif

I'd start with eLearn and/or the lower-level Heorot courses and then move on to the OSCP. All the SANS stuff is great, but it's expensive. You'd want to look at GPEN, GAWN, and/or GWAPT, depending on your pen testing interests.
  • Bl8ckr0uterBl8ckr0uter Inactive Imported Users Posts: 5,031 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Also take a look at:

Heorot.net:
    Heorot.net