Options

CCNA Newbie Lab

brobertsbroberts Member Posts: 23 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey guys, currently I'm a student and a little strapped for cash. Been looking to get a CCNA lab set-up, and I've had a box of old Cisco gear hanging around that my father left for me. So far, I've got 2x 2520 routers, 2x 2514 routers, think I have another 2500 series router hanging around here somewhere too. Also have a C2924M-XL switch and a PIX-506 firewall. I'm sure I won't need the 506 for anything yet, but outside of that would this be a viable set-up for a CCNA lab? I see a lot of people going to the 2600 and 2900 series, would that be a better option? Suggestions would be great. Thanks!

Comments

• Options
    ajmatsonajmatson Member Posts: 289
    From what I have gathered if you plan on going past the CCNA or wanting to cover all of the material the 2600XM series routers are prefered as well as at least 2950 series for the switches and a 3550 for layer 3 switching :) I am sure there are more seasoned guys that will chime in and correct me if I am wrong but I believe this is the basis for a great learning lab.
    Working on currently:
    Masters Degree Information Security and Assurance (WGU) / Estimated 06/01/2016
    Next Up: CCNP Routing Exam | Certified Ethical Hacker Exam
    Cisco Lab: ASA 5506-X, GNS3, 1x 2801 Router, 1x 2650XM, 1x 3750-48TS-E switch, 2x 3550 EMI Switches and 1x 2950T swtich.
    Juniper Lab: 1x SRX100H2, 1x J2320 (1GB Flash/1GB RAM, JunOS 11.4R7.5), and 4 JunOS Firefly vSRX Routers in VMWare ESXi 5.1
  • Options
    BroadcastStormBroadcastStorm Member Posts: 496
    broberts wrote: »