Options

Test Route dilemma

ajmatsonajmatson Member Posts: 289
I have a dilemma I need to figure out and wanted the pros of Tech Exams to submit their advice.

I am a student at WGU in the security track where two of the classes is the CCNA and then the CCNA:S. They do not do the two test route for the CCNA only the 640-802 exam.

I am still learning and do not work with Cisco equipment daily so I am limited in exposure. I have taken the Cisco Net Academy classes but that was 4 years ago :)

They waived the CCNA requirement for my CompTIA Network+ cert so I could skip it and go directly into the CCNA Security but for me that is a big gap.

Now to my question. As far as learning would it be better to take the CCENT first and then the CCNA (ICND2) on my own (I would have to pay for both tests) or ask for the Net+ to be waived and then I would have to take the full CCNA exam at once (Single exam not the 2 exam route) and have them pay for it.

I am not worried about the costs of the test I just want the direction that will help me learn and earn the best.

Thanks for your guys input, I look forward to what you have to say :)
Working on currently:
Masters Degree Information Security and Assurance (WGU) / Estimated 06/01/2016
Next Up: CCNP Routing Exam | Certified Ethical Hacker Exam
Cisco Lab: ASA 5506-X, GNS3, 1x 2801 Router, 1x 2650XM, 1x 3750-48TS-E switch, 2x 3550 EMI Switches and 1x 2950T swtich.
Juniper Lab: 1x SRX100H2, 1x J2320 (1GB Flash/1GB RAM, JunOS 11.4R7.5), and 4 JunOS Firefly vSRX Routers in VMWare ESXi 5.1

Comments

• Options
    0Day0Day Member Posts: 26 ■□□□□□□□□□