Options

Newbie here..intro & some needed advice.

arejayarejay Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi everyone,

This is my first post and I’ll let it serve as both an introduction, and my first question(s).

I’ve been here “lurking” for quite some time and have to say that this forum/site is definitely one of the best, if not THE best. The group of people here are extremely helpful and don’t seem to be solely interested in flaunting their own personal knowledge, but rather are using what they know to help others…to me that is a rarity in the IT field.

That said, I’ll give a brief overview of what I’ve done and what I would like to accomplish in hopes that I can obtain some guidance and help from some of the veterans here.

I’ve been in the “industry” for a little over 10 years. Got my MCSE (4.0) back in ’99 and took the ’00 upgrade exam a year later. I’ve always worked in a network environment in some capacity and just recently moved into the Cisco VIOP field. One of the requirements for promotion is to get my CCNA. Not being a stranger to certification exams I have learned that it is best to link up with fellow exam takers and share knowledge.

My goal here is to find out what the best methods of study are and what has worked for most, and pursue that avenue. I cant tell you how many different opinions I have run across regarding which book to read, which sim to use, etc. etc…. So after coming across this forum, I feel the group of people here would be best to advise.

So, if you don’t mind, like I’ve said, I’m looking for study materials; sims, books, etc. that will get me though. Also, given the fact that I have worked in the field (sys admin, Cisco Telco tech, help desk supervisor, etc.) how obtainable do you all think this exam is? I know that is a very broad question and has more than 1,000 variables, so I guess I’m more so looking for an idea of how involved and intense the exam actually is.