Options

New guy here *lab checkup*

What up everybody. I found this forum while looking for info to build my CCENT/CCNA lab. I have been studying for my CCENT for a couple months and started my own lab but I ended up moving and all my equipment has been boxed up. I'm dying just reading and watching CBT vids....lol...I need my lab back.

Anyways, I currently have

Routers
3640 w/ FE and 4 slow serial ports (Frame switch whattttt)
3662 with 6 NM slots and 2FE ports (for future expansion)

Switches
1900 (too old, probably should have scratched these and the 2900's and just went for a few 2950s, live and learn)
2900XL
2900XL
2900XL

I started getting into Cisco based LAN/WAN about 8-9 years ago but then I stopped doing it and pursued programming. I burned out like crazy after 5 years of PHP coding. It hit me a couple months ago that I love networking and I was thinking to myself "WHY DID I STOP" so I picked up the Cisco official ICND1/2 books, CBT Nugget vids etc.. and bought a cheap little $100 CCNA lab on ebay to start. I love it.

Anyways If anyone has any cheap equipment suggestions that I could add, I would greatly appreciate it.

Comments

• Options
    NetwurkNetwurk Member Posts: 1,155 ■■■■■□□□□□
    Get a 2950 switch and your lab should be OK for CCNA

The 2900's are OK secondary switches, and of course the 1900's are good for boat anchors (you need at least 3 to have enough weight for an anchor)

:)
  • Options
    alan2308alan2308 Member Posts: 1,854 ■■■■■■■■□□
    You're good on routers assuming they have enough memory to run a good enough IOS, but you're switches are a bit rough. The 1900's aren't really of any use since the commands aren't the same. The 2900's are good in cases where you want a 3rd or 4th switch, but I'd really suggest picking up a 2950 or two. In the mean time, while the 2900's are missing features, they will get you started.
  • Options
    Netwurk wrote: »