Options

Going for CCENT/CCNA

earweedearweed Member Posts: 5,192 ■■■■■■■■■□
Hello Cisco Forum,
I've posted a few noob questions here before and also congratulated quite a few exam passers here but after much internal and external debate I've decided to get my CCNA. I'm not, at present, planning on going the pure network route nor am I planning to pursue other Cisco certs but I feel that it will help me in my career to have the networking knowledge that comes with getting the CCNA.

First off I've read all through the sticky about before you post but most entries there are so old they may not be relevant. I'm going to use simulators as if I ever go past the CCNA I'll then purchase the "real stuff" that I need . So here goes with my questions

1) What is the best simulator and how much will it cost? Do I ned to get the IOS for it and how do I get it and the cost?

2) What are the best books for me to get? Remember I'm a total noob here and the only thing I know so far is how to subnet (Will have to practice to get the time up to par though)

3) What other study materials should I get? I've heard the CBT Nuggets are good but should I also get a set of practice tests and which one are the best.

4) Would it be better for me to go the 1 or 2 test route? I'm inclined toward the 2 test route since I want to really learn the material and not have it all crammed into 1 exam study period.

Thanks in advance for any help.
EDIT Putting in a few links which may help me and/or others
http://www.techexams.net/forums/ccna-ccent/58611-how-do-you-get-gns3-interact-real-equipment.html#post455927
FREE CCNA Workbook
http://www.techexams.net/forums/ccna-ccent/58593-subnetting-quick-reference-sheet.html
Cisco Feature Navigator
Community Lab Paccketlife.net
Getting started
No longer work in IT. Play around with stuff sometimes still and fix stuff for friends and relatives.

Comments

• Options
    rogue2shadowrogue2shadow Member Posts: 1,501 ■■■■■■■■□□
    earweed wrote: »