Options

Apparently I'm studying CISSP

DevilsbaneDevilsbane Member Posts: 4,214 ■■■■■■■■□□
My boss comes over today and sees my 70-293 book sitting on my desk and asks what I'm studying for now. (I like to read on lunch, and occasionally during the day if there is nothing else to do.)

He says "Aren't you studying for the CISSP" I reply with "No, its on my long list of things to do, but it is still quite a ways out there." At this he gets an oops look on his face and informs me that he was telling another manager about the guy that he has who is studying CISSP and she expressed interested.

Mostly I'm saying this because it makes me chuckle. But do you guys think this will 1) hurt me because now he has an expectation that I'm working on CISSP. 2) Benefit me that this other manager might take interest into what I am really studying. Or door number 3, mean nothing?
Decide what to be and go be it.

Comments

• Options
    earweedearweed Member Posts: 5,192 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Or door number 4 move the CISSP up on your "to do" list.
    If it might help you to advance where you're at then it may not be a bad thing to look into. I know that getting your MCSE may seem like the most important thing in the world to you but if it means advancing then you could always shift gears a little.
    No longer work in IT. Play around with stuff sometimes still and fix stuff for friends and relatives.
  • Options
    earweed wrote: »
    Or door number 4 move the CISSP up on your "to do" list.
    If it might help you to advance where you're at then it may not be a bad thing to look into. I know that getting your MCSE may seem like the most important thing in the world to you but if it means advancing then you could always shift gears a little.