Options

Windows 2008 Server

johnhumphreyjohnhumphrey Member Posts: 22 ■□□□□□□□□□
I am new to Windows 2008 Server. I am trying to create my own lab. I know you need a 64 bit CPU to run 08 server but how do people using a 32 bit CPU get away with it. Do I need to go out and by a new PC with a 64 bit CPU? Is there other ways around it? I hate to go out and buy a new PC to run 2008 Server. Any suggestions? I tried using it with VMWare but I couldn't even do that.

Thanks
John

Comments

• Options
    joe48184joe48184 Member Posts: 83 ■■□□□□□□□□
    2K8 comes in a few flavors. There is a 32/64 bit version, and a 2K8-R2 version which requires a 64bit processor.
  • Options
    Can you get a trial version of a 32 bit? I only see the 2008 R2 trial version.
  • Options
    earweedearweed Member Posts: 5,192 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Ae you referring to Windows Server 2008 R2? If that is the case you do need a 64 bit processor. I'm not awae if any of the Virtual platforms (Virtual box, Virtual PC, or VMWare workstation) will allow you to run a 64 bit VM on a 32 bit host but I very much doubt it.
    If you still have a PC with a 32 bit processor you are in serious need of upgrading and I recommend you shop around for a good PC with a 64 bit processor. If you are planning on labbing with Server 2008 R2 you may want to make sure the computer can support Hyper-V as you will want to be able to use it. Hyper-V Getting Started Guide

Edit: You may as well use R2 as that is what the tests now cover.
    No longer work in IT. Play around with stuff sometimes still and fix stuff for friends and relatives.
  • Options
    Yes I am trying to work on starting my MCITP. Was just trying to get some experence under my belt. I can't get a job anywhere because I don't have enough job releated experience.
  • Options
    Yes I am trying to work on starting my MCITP. Was just trying to get some experence under my belt. I can't get a job anywhere because I don't have enough job releated experience.