Options

Anyone ever installed a T1?

MAC_AddyMAC_Addy Member Posts: 1,740 ■■■■□□□□□□
I've never done this before. One of our new buildings has just got a new one. They want me to test and turn up the T1? Not sure what this means exactly, if anyone could shed some light on this subject, that would be great!
2017 Certification Goals:
CCNP R/S

Comments

• Options
    it_consultantit_consultant Member Posts: 1,903
    It depends on the ISP. Whether they dropped a channel bank and are waiting for you to plug in a router with a T1 WIC or whether they put the router in and are waiting for your to plug your firewall into the ethernet port on the router.

Either way, you need to call your ISP. Many times one guy drags the cable and sets up the demarc where another guy comes and puts the CPE (customer premise equipment) in. Usually an ad tran with a sign that says "DON'T TOUCH!".
  • Options
    phoeneousphoeneous Member Posts: 2,333 ■■■■■■■□□□
    Call the ISP, they will work with you. Like it_consultant said, they will usually drop a line from the demarc so you can plug it into your equipment. At our main office, they put the Adtrans (isp equipment) in our server room. Do not touch the Adtrans, they belong to the isp.
  • Options
    shodownshodown Member Posts: 2,271
    what type of device and what type of T1? I'm sure its a serial T1, but it can be optical or whatever

Main thing I always do

Loop from the Smart Jack if a serial back to your other site? If you see the circuit come up you know the circuit path is good. If not don't hook up your gear until you get that part fixed

Once that's out the way check your path back to the smart jack. Is your gear in the same room or are you getting extended? If you are getting extended loop from the extension back to your gear. If it comes up good, if not T/S that.

Once you have both of those done you can plug in and your circuit should comes up the only thing now would be errors from the telco.
    Currently Reading