Options

MCITP:EA/SA OS version question

Hi guys, I am new to MS certs and I am still working on my CCNA.
Anyways, I am just wondering if Server 2008 Standard is fine for studying MCITP:EA and MCITP:SA.
I already have the Server 2008 Standard, I just don't have the a PC to run it for my home. I am also thinking to use it for labbing.

What exactly is R2? Is that the same thing as the regular server, but in Virtual Machine?

Off-topic question:
I have Windows 7 Ultimate x64, and tried to create a loopback; however, the loopback is in public network.
How am I going to make it public?
I went to Local Security Policy > Network List Manage Policies > Unidentified Networks > Location type: Private. It did not help either. It did change the icon though from Public(bench) into Work(two linked monitors) networks.
Is there a way around this without messing with the registry?

Thanks
Studying:
Working on CCNA: Security. Start date: 12.28.10
Microsoft 70-640 - on hold (This is not taking me anywhere. I started this in October, and it is December now, I am still on page 221. WTH!)
Reading:
Network Warrior - Currently at Part II
Reading IPv6 Essentials 2nd Edition - on hold

Comments

• Options
    earweedearweed Member Posts: 5,192 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Server 2008 R2 is an updated version of Server 2008. Some new functions were added and some names have been changed. It's also only available in the 64 Bit version. The exams are being upgraded to include material covering Server 2008R2 so it would be a good idea to lab with Server 2008 R2.
    No longer work in IT. Play around with stuff sometimes still and fix stuff for friends and relatives.
  • Options
    thehourmanthehourman Member Posts: 723
    Cool, but what about the Standard version? Is that ok to use for studying EA/SA?
    Studying:
    Microsoft 70-640 - on hold (This is not taking me anywhere. I started this in October, and it is December now, I am still on page 221. WTH!)
    Reading:
  • Options