Anyone find ICND2 much easier than ICND1

PhildoBagginsPhildoBaggins Member Posts: 276
I'm studying for ICND2 and its just so much more hands-on. I think its a much easier test to study for because its just more lab-friendly. I find that even though you get into some heavier concepts such as ACL's the overall amount of commands required to learn seems to be less than ICND1.

What do you all think?

ICND1 harder than ICND2
vs
ICND2 harder than ICND1

Comments

• rogue2shadowrogue2shadow Member Posts: 1,501 ■■■■■■■■□□
    I found the CCENT material easier because I beat it to death with self-study and then took Cisco Network Academy classes on top of it; for ICND2, I just self-studied. I definitely loved the hands on feel of ICND2 more than the CCENT stuff but for me CCENT was easier (not to say that either exam wasn't "hard").
  • fieldmonkeyfieldmonkey Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 254 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I found ICND2 harder than ICND1, I didn't have a problem with the straight forward questions, but the SIMS killed me. I don't feel I got any points on my SIMS, but did plausible on the questions.

I failed 725/825, ICND1 tested just the basics IMO and subnetting. The SIMS I was given, on ICND2 were daunting...don't recall doing any labs at that level, and used the Odom book.

I'm not sure if everyone gets the same level of SIMS, but the few I got required alot of hands on experience so be sure to get your lab time in and know all those commands inside and out. I'll eventually sit it again maybe twice (lol), since I have sat on the CCENT now for six months.
    WIP:
    Husband & Fatherhood Caitlin Grace born 8-26-2010

Future Certs:
    Q1-2011 - INCD2, Microsoft or Linux (decisions, decisions...)
  • WillTech105WillTech105 Member Posts: 216
    Haha, funny enough I took the ICDN2 today and failed with a 798! The passing score of 825 -- so CLOSE!!

I found the ICND1 MUCH easier. ICND2 requires alot more hands on versus theory I find.