Options

Taking 70-270

MrAgentMrAgent Member Posts: 1,310 ■■■■■■■■□□
Ive decided to start on getting a 2003 MCSE.

What are everyones thoughts on the following book?

Amazon.com: MCSA/MCSE Self-Paced Training Kit (Exam 70-270): Installing, Configuring, and Administering Microsoft Windows XP Professional: Installing, Configuring, ... Second Edition (Pro-Certification) (9780735621527): Walter Glenn, Anthony Northrup

It was delivered yesterday. Is this enough to pass the exam?

A little bit about my background.

I have a BS in IT with an emphasis on security, 15 years of IT experience, and I am a current systems engineer working on several large windows enterprise networks.

Should this be an easy exam? I thought security+ was fairly easy.

Comments

• Options
    varelgvarelg Banned Posts: 790
    I have that book and I am about to take this exam, my plans are to sit it at the end of this month or the first week of november. As far as the book is concerned, nothing beats the original MS Press when preparing for an MS exam. There's a whole of a lot of repetitive text when giving directions in practice exercises and few holes around explanation on the registry and startup that I felt were in a need to be patched from either another MS Press book or from Wikipedia. That's what I noticed so far. The thing with the style of writing is that it's not exactly distiled XP knowledge that you just absorb, the distillation is left to you. Expect to take a decent amount of notes as you study and practice.
    Beside the book, I also got the lab workbook for 70-270, I just felt that labbing it makes it stick longer.
    It seems that there's no weight posted on the particular 270's exam objectives, I doubt that all are equally important but my guess is that permissions, remote installations and data storage form the crux of the exam questions.