Options

Which virtual lab is best for CCNA?

StarsterStarster Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
I am currently studying for my CCNA. i am little short on money to built a real lab so i want to buy a virtual lab to sub it. can anyone suggest a good virtual lab program for me? The syntex lab costs only 118 on amazon but users gives only two stars on it. any other suggestions would be appreacite, thanks.

Comments

• Options
    bermovickbermovick Member Posts: 1,135 ■■■■□□□□□□
    for CCNA, get GNS3. It'll take a bit to figure it out but not too long if you're technically savvy. Getting an IOS image to run I'll leave up to you (don't ask, don't tell). That and a pair of 2950 switches would get you through CCNA.

It wouldn't hurt getting a 2600 or 2600XM series router or two, but if you can't afford it, GNS3 will cover router things.
    Latest Completed: CISSP

Current goal: Dunno
  • Options
    alan2308alan2308 Member Posts: 1,854 ■■■■■■■■□□
    GNS3 and Free CCNA Workbook along with a good book.

Though I would suggest you pick up at least a $15 router and get some kind of hands on.
  • Options
    tierstentiersten Member Posts: 4,505
    As bermovick hinted at, running GNS3 which is a GUI for the Dynamips emulator requires IOS images which aren't freely or legally available. Cisco only license IOS for real hardware and only for that specific piece of hardware when you get a maintenance contract. The other issues is that it doesn't emulate Cisco switches. There are workarounds where you pretend a router with a switching module is actually a Cisco Catalyst switch but that isn't ideal.

There is another product which isn't legally available to the general public which I'm sure somebody will bring up at some point. This product is Packet Tracer which is a simulator that is only for current students or alumni of the Cisco Networking Academy.