Sun Solaris Certification

I see a Sun forum here, but its for Java. I'm interested in Sun Solaris Administration training. I use Solaris at work, and have OpenSolaris at on, actually using it to post this. Anyone here certified in Solaris?

Comments

• UnixGuyUnixGuy Mod Posts: 4,564 Mod
    brownwrap wrote: »
    I see a Sun forum here, but its for Java. I'm interested in Sun Solaris Administration training. I use Solaris at work, and have OpenSolaris at on, actually using it to post this. Anyone here certified in Solaris?

Welcome to the forums, yes the SUN forum is for Java only :)

I'm certified on Solaris (SCSA + SCNA), and I'm also a Certified Sun instructor for Solaris and for Sun hardware.

I recommend the official training material from Sun (Oracle now), because it covers the exam objectives very well.

Let me know if you have any questions
    Certs: GSTRT, GPEN, GCFA, CISM, CRISC, RHCE

Check out my YouTube channel: https://youtu.be/DRJic8vCodE 

... OpenSolaris at on, actually using it to post this. ...

unfortunately, OpenSolaris is a dead project now....but on the bright side, Solaris 11 is on the way :)Oracle Outlines Next Major Release of Oracle Solaris

but as far as Solaris certification concerned, stick with Solaris 10.

• brownwrapbrownwrap Member Posts: 549
    UnixGuy wrote: »

I'm certified on Solaris (SCSA + SCNA), and I'm also a Certified Sun instructor for Solaris and for Sun hardware.

I recommend the official training material from Sun (Oracle now), because it covers the exam objectives very well.

When you say "official training material", how do you get it? Outside of attending a class, which I can't afford to do, how does one obtain the material? Thanks.
    When you say "official training material", how do you get it? Outside of attending a class, which I can't afford to do, how does one obtain the material? Thanks.

The website has changed after Oracle acquisition...