Options

CBT Nuggets question 1801 router

mitchumworksmitchumworks Registered Users Posts: 7 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi,

This might be a stupid question, but I'm totally new to this

Jeremy on the cbt nuggets series is using a cisco switch (the model escapes me, it has 24 ports, I know that)

I've borrowed an 1801 Router, and so far, along with the videos, it's going fine (same commands work, same ios messages match the video etc)

Is an 1801 router fine to work with these videos?

Could someone please explain to me the difference between using the term switch or router?

Many thanks (I get the feeling I might be asking more stupid questions in future)

Comments

• Options
    chmorinchmorin Member Posts: 1,446 ■■■■■□□□□□
    Hi,

This might be a stupid question, but I'm totally new to this

Jeremy on the cbt nuggets series is using a cisco switch (the model escapes me, it has 24 ports, I know that)

I've borrowed an 1801 Router, and so far, along with the videos, it's going fine (same commands work, same ios messages match the video etc)

Is an 1801 router fine to work with these videos?

Could someone please explain to me the difference between using the term switch or router?

Many thanks (I get the feeling I might be asking more stupid questions in future)

The term switch and router get very hard to define as you get up to the professional level of things.

At your point, a switch should be considered a layer 2 devices that performs most of its tasks using an ARP table and its high-speed backplane to forwarding out matching ports.

A router should be considered a layer 3 devices that performs packet routing and generally lacks speed when compared to a layer 2 switch, but trades it for the ability to handle more complex forwarding and route decision making such as RIP, OSPF, and EIGRP.

A router can handle routing protocols, where as a layer two switch can not.
    A switch can handle VLAN, STP, and VTP configurations, where as a router can not.