Passed CCENT today!! and a short Boson EXSim Max review

gosh1976gosh1976 Member Posts: 441
So, I took the ICND1 this morning and passed with a 937!!!

I studied very hard for this exam and I am happy with my score. I used a number of different resources for this exam and I think it was important. I used the Net Academy curriculum, Todd Lammle's book, CBT Nuggets, I went through an element K course that was on the ACM website.

I used packet tracer, the real lab equipment at school, the virtual labs in the element k course, and the NetLab from school. I should have spent more time practicing with the labs and doing some of the troubleshooting lab exercises form the Net Academy on the real equipment or done them more in packet tracer but without using the nifty little cheats in packet tracer like the blinking lights and being able to hover over the router to see the ip addresses and ports being used. You've got to be able to do everything as if you are telneted into the router or switch remotely.

As a disclaimer I was lucky enough to be able to test the latest Boson EXSim Max ICND1 practice exams. It would have been worth it to purchase the practice test and I will be buying their practice test for the ICND2. I thought it was a pretty good predictor of success for the actual exam and probably a little harder than the real thing. One complaint about the Boson exam would be the lack of Simlet questions but there are simulation questions on the practice exams.

After taking the practice tests as if i was taking the real thing I went through in practice mode and read the explanations on every question I missed and also studied a little more in those areas.

I think it was invaluable that I can subnet in my head very quickly. I wrote down the chart I use which I have referenced in other threads and didn't have to use the dry erase board except to glance at the chart. I practiced subnetting for hours and hours and hours.

Comments