Options

Real World Secuirty Mitigation

cjthedj45cjthedj45 Member Posts: 331 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hi,

I'm studying my CCNA secuirty (Exam on Monday) and I wondered if some of the things I have learned to mitigate security threats/Vulnerabliltes are actually used in real environments. I can see the benefits of them but I'm not sure if the actual overhead warrants implementing them. Here are a few that I think are good ideas and could be suggested at my company as service improvements

Port Security. Great for protecting against inside cam overflow attacks man in the middle etc. I think this would only work if you had your switch environment managed really well. I.E first 8 ports accounting vlan next 10 ports another vlan a vlan for laptop users who come in and out etc and then you tied the port down to one mac address. In our environment pc's move a lot and the switch stacks are not blocked into vlans the vlans are all over the stack. So I think to manage this could cause quite an overhead. Just wondered if anyone out there does use Port Security in any way.

Storm Control. In the example Jeremy gives he has to sort out a pc that has a root kit installed and it starts sending out broadcast of some type and the switch starts running a 100% and the network grinds to a halt. Storm control can block a port if broadcast traffic goes over a certain level so this seems like a good idea. I know that most laptop should have av on that should remove the root kit. For a while though some of our laptops had no AV and then their is third partys that come in who may not have av installed.

Comments

• Options
    it_consultantit_consultant Member Posts: 1,903
    You will find most layer 2 attacks can be easily mitigated by a locked door. Data leakage by employees is probably the most concerning. People who have the skill to burrow, undetected, through the open ports on a firewall are few and far between. Focus on making your users security conscience, since they are the biggest risk.