Options

Xeno's MCSA/MCSE journey

Well, here we go. I feel like I need somewhere to talk/rant/ramble about all the things I'm learning as well as provide accountability to keep myself on track. I'm starting from square one having never taken a MS exam in my life. I've been working with Server 2003 on a Jr. Admin level for 3 or 4 years now, so I'm familiar with all the basic functions.

Why am I choosing to complete certs on a 7 year old Microsoft OS rather than work on the MCITP? icon_scratch.gif That's a good question, and one I asked myself before starting on this course. Our domain is still very much mixed between 03 and 08. A total migration is on the horizon, but 03 will be around in our shop for several years to come. Because I've been working with Server 2003 for a few years now, I feel like it would be a waste to have that experience but not be able to put those letters on my resume. I know the MCITP will continue to gain industry exposure as more shops migrate, but the term "MCSE" just has a certain ring to it that will still be there long after the exams are retired. icon_cool.gif

I titled this thread my "MCSA/MCSE" journey because I'm going to focus on the MCSA for the short term. I've already finished my Security+ so I know the MCSA is do-able in a reasonable amount of time. I'd really like to continue on to the MCSE, but that will largely depend on how tired of MS material I am in a few months. Time will tell.....

So....what am doing at the moment?