Options

IT CAREER

BEE BEEBEE BEE Member Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
I wish to change my career, I have been working for the past 15 yrs in a different sector, but right now I really want a change of career. my interests are troubleshooting, configuration and system maintenance as well as system security and network security.
kindly furnish me with a career plan and advice me on the necessary certifications i need to get, when i eventually get those certifications how do i start out, since i don't have any IT experience. what can of job offers can i get, when i get the necessary certifications. I guess i need to certify, as i can see that may be the only way i can get into the IT field.
MILLION TANKS FOR YOUR ADVICE.

Comments

• Options
    /usr/usr Member Posts: 1,768
    What is your current knowledge level?

Some introduction certifications in those areas would be CompTIA's A+, Network+, and Security+. Check out the exam objectives at http://www.comptia.org and see how your current knowledge compares. If you find that you don't know that material, I would begin with those.
  • Options
    tschnabel99tschnabel99 Member Posts: 51 ■■□□□□□□□□
    BB I'm a career changer. Let me tell you it ain't no picnic. Most career advisors will tell you that is the hardest thing to do. I was a machinist and now after obtaining my A.A.S. getting 2 years experience then being laid off,for 15 months, now I'm starting a new job as an IT Analyst @ $20 an hour. Are you prepared for that?