Options

Just starting out in technical IT career...

razz2525razz2525 Member Posts: 28 ■□□□□□□□□□
I've been working in IT for 7 years but mostly in a business capacity, software compliance, asset management and licensing primarily, but I want to gain more technical knowledge and move into the IT auditing/access management field. I have a good basic understanding of IT Governance but perhaps unwisely, I'm taking the CISA exam in a few days thinking that I knew more than I apparently do. A co-worker told me to "get the exam out of the way" since that's the hardest part. So, I took a prep course paid for by my company and I'm in way over my head. I'm scoring an average of 60% on practice exams because certain terminology I'm simply unfamiliar with (like cryptography!).

I like to think positively but I'm not too hopeful about this exam. I need more time and more importantly, more hands-on experience. Is there some other certification or training I can take in order to gain more knowledge of internal controls and networking? Comptia A+?? I figure Comptia Security + will be over my head too. I need a good foundation and understanding of information systems before I can really break into auditing. My job within my IT department is focused more on financial auditing, but I think they'll support me in expanding my role to include a technical role.

Any ideas as to where to start?? Thanks so much.

Comments

• Options
    ibcritnibcritn Member Posts: 340
    I think studying for CISSP would be your best bet. Most certs like CCNA, CEH, various Microsoft certs are too technical for what you are looking to do.

CISSP goes through everything servers, networks, systems as a whole and the security concerns....it touches on both technical and business aspects.