Rough career advice.

Hi all,

I'm just after a little bit of an insight, from those in the know, about the best paths to take in the fields of Security and Wireless (as i believe they go hand in hand with the advancements in wifi and the protocols that are soon to be released late 2011). I have read through the forums regarding the Info sec path - mainly with physical/network security and have found a lot of great information.

Currently I am studying towards CompTIA Security+ and CCNA (and eventually Net+ and A+ for vendor neutral certifications), my position at work is as a network administrator/technician within a Cisco centric environment. As this is with the Defence I have great exposure to security and methods for encryption etc. and I would like to continue in the field of network security.

At some stage I would also like to amalgamate this with VoIP (CCNA: Voice, E|CVP)

I have plans to work towards CCNP, and pick up CCNA: Security and Wireless and C|EH and I may look at the CWNP certifications as well.

So in closing, are there any pointers one could yield for certifications/training/experience relating to security and wireless?

Thanks for any help that can be provided. icon_cheers.gif

Comments

• AshenweltAshenwelt Member Posts: 266 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I have an odd one. If you can get the CCNA, and you want to do networking: skip the A+ and N+. They will be a waste of time when you should be going for CCNA+S.
    Ashenwelt
    -Always working on something...
    -The RepAdmin Active Directory Blog
  • KasorKasor Member Posts: 933 ■■■■□□□□□□
    If your work is cisco centric, then go after all the CCNP and CCDP. You can skip the CompTIA certification, but take the security+.
    Kill All Suffer T "o" ReBorn
  • cisco_nerdcisco_nerd Member Posts: 198
    Kasor wrote: »
    If your work is cisco centric, then go after all the CCNP and CCDP. You can skip the CompTIA certification, but take the security+.