Career Switch - Is CCNA the right place to start?

fromao55fromao55 Member Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
I have 5 years of telecom sales experience (IP, WANs, voice, data, etc); however, I have very little/no knowledge of what happens from the "router in". Due to a recent move to Brazil (wife is from here), I am looking at a career change. My thought process is to build a career in networking, regardless of how much work and studying lie ahead. So now, I am looking to build a list of market-valued certs.

Questions: Is the CCNA cert the best place for a newbie to start? Or should I begin somewhere else, such as A+, Network+, MCSE, etc. and work my way up to CCNA?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Comments

• DrakonblaydeDrakonblayde Member Posts: 542
    If you really don't know much about the LAN side of things, I'd recommend picking up a Net+ book and going through it until you're comfortable with the material, CCNA is a jump in the deep end from the networking point of view if you're coming in with little to no experience. I don't actually advise taking the Net+, since the CCNA will supersede it, but it's a good introduction to networking.

As well, if you plan a career in networking, don't plan to stop at CCNA. Plan on going at least for CCNP, because CCNA alone just doesn't guarentee a job they way it used to.
    = Marcus Drakonblayde
    ================
    CCNP-O-Meter:
    =[0%]==[25%]==[50%]==[75%]==[100%]
    ==[X]===[X]====[ ]=====[ ]====[ ]==
    =CCNA==BSCI==BCMSN==BCRAN==CIT=
  • fromao55fromao55 Member Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Great info. Thanks a ton!
  • keenonkeenon Member Posts: 1,922 ■■■■□□□□□□
    fromao55 wrote: