Project+ in Four Days

spiderjerichospiderjericho Registered Users, Member Posts: 890 ■■■■■□□□□□
Hello all. I took the CompTIA Project+ exam today. I scored a 794/900.

I decided to take the test because of all the chatter about the CompTIA Dec. 31st Deadline for lifetime certification (versus the three-year certification in 2011) and WGU accepting the certification for credits.

The only study materials I used were the Sybex book:

http://www.amazon.com/CompTIA-Project-Study-Guide-PK0-003/dp/0470585927/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1293573328&sr=8-1

At first, I was reading the book electronically on my laptop, but it was frying my reproductive organs, so I opted to buy a hard copy off of Big River. The book comes with a useful CD that includes flash cards, practice tests, slides and an electronic copy of the book.

Before delving into the book material, I must say that I have no experience in project management. As an IT, I have simply taught and been an infrastructure/server administrator.

Now...the book. As many have stated before, the topic is a bit dry. But I think it does an excellent job of covering most of the test objectives.

I read the book in three days. It was definitely not a pleasant experience cramming all of the information in my head. To make matters worse, it just seemed like everything was blending together or confusing.

Yesterday (Day four), all I did was re-read the chapter summaries and explanations at the end of the chapters (as well as a pass-through of the end of chapter tests to look at the explanations not the questions). The only test prep I used were the practice tests included with the Sybex CD (the pre assessment test, chapter tests and two bonus tests).

I took the exam today. Boy, was I nervous. As I went into the test, I went in without knowing/memorizing a single formula (mostly from chapter 9). So already, I was down two in a bush. However, I used the good 'ol process of elimination and guesstimates to plow through the exam.