Prep for Sec +

tgfndotcomtgfndotcom Member Posts: 37 ■■□□□□□□□□
How Much Prep is Needed ?

I got lucky and got a time scheduled for Dec 30th. I haven't had time to study Sec + but i went through measureup.com 30-day test prep bank (all 206 questions) in about 2 hours and scored 85%.... now i have about 40 some hours before the sitting ....

I found some terms new, that i had to look up, but i am a server admin with several MS certs, and have been working as a server admin for several years so most this information is not new to me. Most MS tests i spend about 10-20 hours tops studying and i have been fine on those.

Do you think additional studying would be required other than running through the prep bank of questions again ?

Be honest if you think something i have $258 on this and i hate to throw that money away

Comments

• erpadminerpadmin Member Posts: 4,165 ■■■■■■■■■■
    tgfndotcom wrote: »
    How Much Prep is Needed ?

I got lucky and got a time scheduled for Dec 30th. I haven't had time to study Sec + but i went through measureup.com 30-day test prep bank (all 206 questions) in about 2 hours and scored 85%.... now i have about 40 some hours before the sitting ....

I found some terms new, that i had to look up, but i am a server admin with several MS certs, and have been working as a server admin for several years so most this information is not new to me. Most MS tests i spend about 10-20 hours tops studying and i have been fine on those.

Do you think additional studying would be required other than running through the prep bank of questions again ?

Be honest if you think something i have $258 on this and i hate to throw that money away

If you do not want to spend $9.99 for Darril Gibson's book on Amazon Kindle, you could do this:

1) Go to CompTIA's website and download the 2008 Security+ Objectives.

2) Research the terms you aren't familiar with on Google for free.

3) Take some practice exams right here on TE.