I failed the ICND2 - captain hindsight

jbylsmajbylsma Registered Users Posts: 7 ■□□□□□□□□□
Yes, I did fail the ICND2 last week and would like to discuss why this happened and hopefully help and be helped to prepare for the second at bat.

I passed the ICND1 a few weeks prior with a very good score. With this confidence boost I studied the ICND2 objectives, got a 94% on the Boson ICND2 practice test and went into the testing center very confident.

The real test looked absolutely nothing like the practice test. In depth scenario questions that took me way too long to figure out. The sims weren't bad but time management killed me as I finished with 5 unanswered.

I understand why Cisco times there tests this way but I know this material...frustration

If anyone has nailed the ICND2 and has some advice for me it would be greatly appreciated before I step back up to the plate.

whats the best practice exam out there? What should I focus on? :D

Comments

• miller811miller811 Member Posts: 897
    Always study the exam blueprint to determine what you need to know to pass the exam. It is not about the practice exams.
    How much lab time did you do, do you have access to real hardware?

The breakdown on the exam report should highlight what cost you points and the areas you need to focus on. Time management is a big one and since you left 5 questions unanswered, then it is possible that cost you a pass, but since you did not list your score, we do not know how close or far away you were from the pass.

And always use more than one source of information to prepare for the exam.
    I don't claim to be an expert, but I sure would like to become one someday.

Quest for 11K pages read in 2011
    Page Count total to date - 1283
  • jbylsmajbylsma Registered Users Posts: 7 ■□□□□□□□□□