Options

So which cert is next??

buff3r0vrfl0wbuff3r0vrfl0w Member Posts: 30 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi All,

New to the forum, gota say though, GREAT active community, with loads of quality info. A lil about me, I am a sophomore in college currently pursuing a Net. Admin associates degree , going into infosec... luckily my college reimburses me if I pass any certification they approve.. this past year I got the A+ and Network +. Really wanted to squeeze the security + in there but could't get it done. Anyways I am really in "cert mode" rite now , thinking about still going for sec + in march but wanna know what else I should look into (server+, linux+, ccna??) I am very interested in the VCP and ethical hacker certs.. well what'yall think?

Comments

• Options
    Chris:/*Chris:/* Member Posts: 658 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Stick with the entry level certs like security+ and linux+ then move on to the associate ones before you hit combined knowledge certs like VCP.
    Degrees:
    M.S. Information Security and Assurance
    B.S. Computer Science - Summa Cum Laude
    A.A.S. Electronic Systems Technology
  • Options
    TurgonTurgon Banned Posts: 6,308 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Hi All,

New to the forum, gota say though, GREAT active community, with loads of quality info. A lil about me, I am a sophomore in college currently pursuing a Net. Admin associates degree , going into infosec... luckily my college reimburses me if I pass any certification they approve.. this past year I got the A+ and Network +. Really wanted to squeeze the security + in there but could't get it done. Anyways I am really in "cert mode" rite now , thinking about still going for sec + in march but wanna know what else I should look into (server+, linux+, ccna??) I am very interested in the VCP and ethical hacker certs.. well what'yall think?

You are still in College so I would concentrate on your grades first and foremost. After that consider obtaining some part time experience but not at the expense of your grades.