Options

what happens to student software if you're not a student?

Mike-MikeMike-Mike Member Posts: 1,860
I am currently a student in a Microsoft academy, and I installed Windows 7 on a pc.... when I cancel being a student, do I get to keep Windows 7? or am i going to have to pay for it now?
Currently Working On

CWTS, then WireShark

Comments

• Options
    dalesdales Member Posts: 225
    Mike-Mike wrote: »
    I am currently a student in a Microsoft academy, and I installed Windows 7 on a pc.... when I cancel being a student, do I get to keep Windows 7? or am i going to have to pay for it now?

It wont disable itself if thats what your concerned about, TBH over here in blighty there is a big electronics chain that regularly advertise studen office editions on the telly. In the old days I used to have to prove I was a student before being sent the keys.
    Kind Regards
    Dale Scriven

Twitter:dscriven
    Blog: vhorizon.co.uk
  • Options
    rwmidlrwmidl Member Posts: 807 ■■■■■■□□□□

Disclaimer: Always read the license to determine what the terms of usage are. That being said...

I believe "technically" you are suppose to uninstall the software and no longer use it if you are no longer a student. The same would be if your employer was able to get the Microsoft Home Use Plan/Program - even though you buy the software (Office) with your own money for your own use at home, if you are no longer employed by the company you are suppose to uninstall the program and not use it.

That being said, there is no way for M$ or any other company (Adobe for example) to know "what" your status is (student, employed with company, etc) once you register the software with the activation key.

Now if you try to purchase software at a student discount you usually have to provide proof of being a student (copy of transcripts, student id, etc).
    CISSP | CISM | ACSS | ACIS | MCSA:2008 | MCITP:SA | MCSE:Security | MCSA:Security | Security + | MCTS
  • Options