Options

Jr. Linux Sys Admin Salary Question...

humbleboyhumbleboy Member Posts: 14 ■□□□□□□□□□
I need some quick input from you guys:

I've been promoted to a Jr. Linux Sys Admin at my company and I'm struggling to figure of if the salary they gave me is acceptible. (I'm going to have to be somewhat vague with the details for confidentiality purposes.) I work for a somewhat large company in Charlotte, NC. I have a college degree in my field along with my A+, Net+, Sec+.

What would everyone consider to be an acceptable salary?

I can't find any solid salary guides online for Jr. Linux Admin. Anyone have any first hand experience?

Comments

• Options
    ehndeehnde Member Posts: 1,103
    How much are they paying you? I'd say between 34k and 48k, but I'm not familiar with your area.
    Climb a mountain, tell no one.
  • Options
    Daniel333Daniel333 Member Posts: 2,077 ■■■■■■□□□□
    Well, I need more details. If your job is resetting passwords, creating accounts, running backups and reinstalling Ubuntu all day then you are probably gonna make anywhere from 8-12/hr depending on your region.

On the other hand if you'll be working with the LAMP suite, assisting in virtualization projects maybe coordinating vendors to migration a SQL Server to MySQL or something you can expect to make twice that. I have seen a surge in OpenSource routers too.

Share your job description and we might be able to give you some more details? I'd also like to know your experience in networking/infrastructure? You have a couple Comptia certs, but I can assure you they don't amount to much money. They are just stepping stones.
    -Daniel
  • Options
    humbleboyhumbleboy Member Posts: 14 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Daniel333,