Options

Security certification required for job

Hokie4LifeHokie4Life Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello all. I am currently an Oracle DBA but some new regulations have come down requiring me to hold a certification for the environment that I support (Oracle) and a security certification. The Oracle cert I have no problem with however, I don't dwell a whole lot in network security. I am required to attain one of the following certifications: GSEC, Security+, SCNP or SSCP.

I would appreciate some advice on which one of these would likely be the easiest to attain.

Thanks in advance for your help.

-Eric

Comments

• Options
    Lemonade727Lemonade727 Member Posts: 177
    I'm not familiar with the SCNP certification, but I'm willing to bet that the Security+ would still venture out to be the easiest for you to obtain. It has some very good information contained in it, but is still more of a broad overview of security components which should be easier to follow along with since you don't have much previous knowledge on the subject.

Darril Gibson's "Get Certified, Get Ahead" book is incredibly well written for the Security+ exam and I know that myself and several others have passed the examination solely off of this resource alone. Although since you don't have much prior knowledge you may want to use other resources alongside it, it will still more than likely be your primary learning tool on the subject.

Edit: Just looked into the SCNP road-path recommendations and they're listing Security+ as the logical starting point for that, so yes it appears all roads are leading to Security+ being your certification of choice. Also the fact that there are no prerequisites for the Security+ certification is a welcoming start point as well.
    Completed: EWB2, LAE1, WFV1, BAC1, BBC1, SSC1, SST1, BOV1, WSV1, GAC1, HHT1, QLT1, ORC1, LET1, MGC1, TPV1, INC1, WDV1​, INT1, LAT1, LUT1, IWC1, IWT1, KET1, KFT1, TWA1, CPW1
    Required:
    Finished! I'm a graduate now!